Chatham High School Principal Darren Groh announced this week that twenty-six seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program.

“Our students who earned National Merit Commended student status should feel proud of their accomplishment," Groh said. "It is a direct result of the hard work and dedication they put towards their academics.”

A Letter of Commendation from the school and from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, was presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

The Commended Students from Chatham High School are as follows: James Allen, Sara Barrett, Filippa Bruu-Syversen, Jackson DeVico, Serena Didio, Sean Dutton, Olivia Garman, Veronica Hodapp, Isabella Hoie, Caleb Hollander, Samuel Hollander, Suhaib Iqbal, Brenda Jaroker, Jiang Jason, John Kowalczyk, Tanay Malla, Thomas Marino, Mihika Ramprasad, Zachary Riback, Rohan Sharma, Claire Silverstein, Jackson Singer, Matthew Stryszak, Samantha Teisch, Colin Tracy, and Connor Zerres.

Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2019 competition by taking the 2017 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Text (PSAT/NMSQT). 

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for the NMSP. “The students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”