TAP Into Your Town's News

West Essex — Homepage Top Stories

West Caldwell's Shotgun Deer Hunt Program Begins Nov. 25

Carolyne Volpe Curley

Wednesday, November 13, 2013 • 12:19pm


WEST CALDWELL, NJ - Wednesday morning, West Caldwell Township sent out a letter to residents informing them of the scheduled deer hunt which begins Monday, Nov. 25 and ends Friday, Feb. 7. Hunters will be confined to the areas of the Hatfield Swamp and the township’s leaf composting facility The hunters are certified Essex County Deer Management Program participants and according to their certification have “significant prior experience with deer management.”

West Caldwell has plans in place to see that all hunted deer will be processed into food which will then be provided to local food pantries and soup kitchens.

Deer Hunt Schedule
West Caldwell Chief of Police Michael J. Bramhall explained that, while specific days have been allotted for the program, each hunt will occur depending on the weather and availability of hunters. The following days have been scheduled as permissible hunting days in the township’s designated areas:
  • November
    • Monday, Nov. 25 
    • Tuesday, Nov. 26 
    • Wednesday, Nov. 27
       
  • December
    • Monday, Dec. 9 
    • Tuesday, Dec. 10 
    • Wednesday, Dec. 11 
    • Thursday, Dec. 12 
    • Friday, Dec. 13 
    • Wednesday, Dec. 18 
    • Thursday, Dec. 19 
    • Friday, Dec. 20
       
  • January
    • Thursday, Jan. 2 
    • Friday, Jan. 3 
    • Monday, Jan. 6 
    • Tuesday, Jan. 7 
    • Wednesday, Jan. 8 
    • Thursday, Jan. 9 
    • Friday, Jan. 10 
    • Monday, Jan. 13 
    • Tuesday, Jan. 14 
    • Wednesday, Jan. 15 
    • Thursday, Jan. 16 
    • Friday, Jan. 17 
    • Monday, Jan. 20 
    • Tuesday, Jan. 21 
    • Wednesday, Jan. 22 
    • Thursday, Jan. 23 
    • Friday, Jan. 24 
    • Monday, Jan. 27 
    • Tuesday, Jan. 28 
    • Wednesday, Jan. 29 
    • Thursday, Jan. 30 
    • Friday, Jan. 31
       
  • February
    • Monday, Feb. 3 
    • Tuesday, Feb. 4 
    • Wednesday, Feb. 5 
    • Thursday, Feb. 6 
    • Friday, Feb. 7 

Hunt Locations
Two of the hunting grounds will be located in designated areas of the Hatfield Swamp. The third location will be at the township’s leaf composting facility off of Bloomfield Avenue, adjacent to Essex Place and Aldrin Drive.  

West Caldwell’s leaf composting facility, located near Essex Place and Aldrin Drive  Credit: Google Maps 

The swamp is located in West Essex Park which is to the west of Passaic Avenue, and to the south of Bloomfield Avenue.  

Hatfield Swamp, located in West Essex Park  Credit: Google Maps 

The township will be posting signs around the hunting area. If anyone has any questions, they are asked to contact the township’s administrator, Adam Brewer, at 973-226-2300.  

TAP into your town! Get Your Town's News In Your Inbox: Click here to sign up.